BIRTHDAYS – AND THE ANOMALIES ATTACHED TO SUCH!

As a kid, birthdays were da bomb!

Well, not entirely using that slang in my day. The obvious reason for birthdays being such had nothing to do with military ordinance. It was more to do with what we as birthdees, which is to say us that were experiencing a birthday, could get out of it.

Yep, it was almost an extractive experience where you would pre-empt the day by psychological grooming, willing the listener to consider parting with considerably large splodges of wonga. In other words, bigger birthday gifts. It sometimes worked.

Yet the biggest wonder for me was that birthdays happen on the calendar day that we were born, mine being the 7th May. And religiously (maybe regularly, rather than religiously) we go through the ritual of celebrating it in one way or another.

And, in actual fact, it’s not your birthday which you celebrate, but rather the annual commemoration thereof. ‘Cos you can’t have a birthday after you pass on, but a …… Ok, don’t wanna repeat myself!!

And yet, some us do not celebrate the commemoration, but ignore it altogether, some for religious reasons and others due to lack of interest. I find that strange but will leave it be on the understanding we all have our own beliefs.

As previously mentioned, the process itself can be seriously extractive depending on your age and gender. The younger you are, the more it matters. I will not comment on the gender aspect since I do not have my body armour with me.

I have moved way beyond the extractive and into the philosophical phase, where peace, happiness and goodwill between people is all that I want.

Oh yes, and cheap sweaters, donations toward future hiking trips, camping gizmos, new muscles for my legs, new corneas or lenses for my eyes, springs for my step, a proper 4×4 van, unlimited fuel vouchers, a bank account with no bottom, a beer production plant, vegetarian steaks exactly like the real thing and socks.

You know môs, I need very little to survive!

Please feel free to donate to a donkey sanctuary or any animal sanctuary near you as a Xmas gift to me! Doenit!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.